5 Ways to Get Out of a Rut

I’m stuck in a rut. It had taken me a long time, but I can admit that now. I’ve made some changes to try to get out of this hole my mind has seemed to be stuck in.

Here’s my list of 5 things to get you out of a rut:

1. Change your lifestyle

This sounds super drastic, but little changes, one at a time, work wonders in the long run. Nerd Fitness is a great option if you’re like me and you don’t feel like you fit into the conventional weight loss picture. Nerd Fitness has absolutely changed the way I look and and control my life. They taught me the power of small changes, the power of strength training, and power of Paleo, as well as the power of nerds (which we already knew). My favourite thing about the program and the website is the community that comes with it. The people I have met in the forums there have been so so soooo useful to keeping my goals and giving tips on how to make habit changes. In a way, every point on the list can come under the bigger title of changing my lifestyle.

2. Do something to relax yourself

For me, this is meditation. I have suffered from anxiety and panic attacks for the last 5 or 6 years of my life, so finding a way to control that is crucial to me. Meditation has helped me feel greater control over my body as well as relax me and give me strength for the rest of the day. I use the Smiling Mind app on my iPhone to do this daily. (Plus, the app is FREE)

3. Do something that will change you for the better

Another step I have taken to getting in control of my anxiety has been to practice yoga. I am very shy about my body, and also very poor with no transportation, so I do yoga in my living room. I try to aim for at least three times a week, and it has changed my stress levels dramatically. I absolutely love the classes on DoYogaWithMe. They’re free (though donating is encouraged) and range from beginner to advanced in many different branches of the yoga community.

4. Don’t hide it

This might be more important for people, like me, who are stuck in ruts as a symptom of depression. One of my problems with this is every time my depression rears its ugly head I feel ashamed that it is happening again and happening to me. Because of this, it took me far too long to reach out to the Dude and tell him what was going on and how I was feeling. The support has made loads of difference. I sent him this article 20 Things to Remember if You Love a Person with Depression. This helped him to understand what I was going through when I was not able to articulate the thoughts and feelings myself.

5. Take care of yourself

I’m taking it back to the basics here. I mean simple things like sticking to a hygiene routine of washing your face and brushing your teeth every night, drinking your favourite tea before bed, and reading just for fun. I find these little things can get lost in the mundane activities that never go away like washing the dishes or cleaning the toilet. Take time to pamper yourself with all the little things you love, whether it is a bath or a glass of wine, your body and your mind will thank you for it.

joffrey clap

Leave a Reply

